Monday, December 21, 2009

Max on... decorating for Christmas (to tree or not to tree)


Do you know that HH (my food human, Her Highness) has never had a Christmas tree since I entered her life. She was probably wise. I can't pretend outrage on this one. I mean if she brought a tree into the condo, it would have confused me.

I'm not sure what I would do. I suspect I would first try to climb it and if that failed, I would try to chew on the branches.

If you decorated it, you'd just be asking for trouble. I bet I could clean the decorations off a reasonably-sized Christmas tree in a mere 10 minutes. So, I guess HH figured this out for herself and decided to avoid the mess.

She does put smaller decorations out on tables and counters, though. You know, she puts them on the tables, I'm "trained" to stay off. (Yes, I hear you snickering because you think I get up on those tables when she's not home. Of course you're wrong about that. Hee Hee!)



If you just absolutely must have a Christmas tree, here are some precautions and tips that might help:

1. Don't use tinsel on your tree unless you want the litter decorated with it as well.

2. Be sure to use ornaments that are too large for your pet to eat and keep the ornaments high enough on the tree so your pet doesn't take them down and play with them or break them.

3. I know it's popular to string popcorn, cranberries or both and put strings of them on the tree. It's probably best to avoid using them with pets around. If you do use them, be sure to watch your pets to see what they do. Take them down if your pet shows them too much attention.

4. Christmas plants, flowers and table centerpieces: The rule of thumb for all of these is to watch your pets carefully when you introduce any new plant or decoration to the house. You might want do a little research on line to determine what is poisonous and what isn't before you buy. You pet will show an initial curiosity when you bring a new plant or flowers into the house. If after that, they ignore them, you're good to go. If they just won't leave them alone, it's best to put the plant or flowers up too high for them or put them outside.

If you have lights on your tree, it's good to turn them off when you're not home. You know... better safe than sorry.

Here's hoping you and your pet have a safe and happy holiday season. Feel free to add your comments to the list.

8 comments:

Shawnee the Shepherd said...

My mom agrees with Her Highness - no tree here! Mom did the tree and dekorashuns every year when the boy was growing up and had to clean up lots of dekorashun messes. I swear it was not me - I was not around then. But even now that we are older, mom is just plain lazy and doesn't do dekorashuns any more. She says it make her life much easier.

Max the Quilt Cat said...

HH agrees with your mom. We'll have a wreath on the door if we're lucky.... Tha's okay. I can get in the spirit of it all without all the fuss.

Thanks for the comment Shawnee...

*nosetaps*

Max

LouPeb said...

Good post! Very informative and educational :o)
my mom's lazy too. heheh

*woof*

Jianxiang Huang said...

0708chicago bulls jersey
derrick rose jersey
michael jordan jersey
christian louboutin outlet
christian louboutin sale
christian louboutin shoes
christian louboutin uk
louboutin uk
chris paul jersey
los angeles clippers jerseys
coach outlet online
coach outlet store
coach outlet store
coach outlet
coach outlet online
coach outlet store
coach outlet
cheap mlb jerseys
custom mlb jerseys
mlb jerseys
cowboys jerseys
dallas cowboys jersey
kyle wilber jersey,jeremy mincey jersey,jeff heath jersey,dez bryant jersey,dan bailey jersey,rolando mcclain jersey,george selvie jersey,larry allen jersey,uche nwaneri jersey,roger staubach jersey,gavin escobar jersey
dansko clogs
dansko outlet
dansko shoes
broncos jerseys
denver broncos jerseys
peyton manning jersey,eric decker jersey,aqib talib jersey,emmanuel sanders jersey,shannon sharpe jersey,louis vasquez jersey

Hua Cai said...

oakley sunglasses
evening dresses
cartier love bracelet
true religion jeans
michael kors outlet
toms outlet
ysl outlet
cheap nhl jerseys
rolex watches uk
air force one shoes
mac cosmetics
oakley sunglasses
abercrombie and fitch
kobe shoes
chelsea jersey
adidas outlet
chicago blackhawks jersey
ralph lauren outlet
kansas city chiefs jerseys
timberland shoes
los angeles clippers jerseys
lebron james shoes
air jordan shoes
beats by dre
giuseppe zanotti
adidas outlet
polo lacoste pas cher
michael kors outlet online
fitflop
supra shoes
coach outlet online
nike outlet store
michael kors handbags
insanity workout
nike huarache
cheap football shirts
michael kors outlet
nhl jerseys
boston celtics jersey
jordan 11
2015804caihuali

方松腾 said...

TEN0405
babyliss flat iron
mulberry handbags
longchamp handbags
mulberry handbags
michael kors uk
mulberry handbags
hollister uk
tiffany jewellery
oakley sunglasses uk
fitflops uk
fitflops shoes
ralph lauren outlet
ralph lauren pas cher
tiffany and co
oakley sunglasses wholesale
hollister shirts
tiffany outlet
hollister shirts
coach outlet store
mulberry sale
oakley sunglasses
oakley sunglasses wholesale
ray ban sunglasses
oakley sunglasses
hollister clothing
kate spade handbags
burberry outlet online
coach outlet online
true religion jeans
burberry outlet

Cran Kate said...

Michael Kors Outlet Coach Factory Outlet Coach Outlet Online Coach Purses Kate Spade Outlet Toms Shoes North Face Outlet Coach Outlet North Face Jackets Oakley Sunglasses Toms Outlet North Face Outlet Nike Outlet Nike Hoodies Tory Burch Flats Marc Jacobs Handbags Jimmy Choo Shoes Jimmy Choos True Religion Outlet ED Hardy Outlet
Burberry Belt Tory Burch Boots Louis Vuitton Belt Ferragamo Belt Marc Jacobs Handbags Lululemon Outlet Christian Louboutin Shoes True Religion Outlet Tommy Hilfiger Outlet
Michael Kors Outlet Coach Outlet Red Bottoms Kevin Durant Shoes New Balance Outlet Adidas Outlet Coach Outlet Online Stephen Curry Jersey Vans Outlet Ralph Lauren Outlet

Cran Jane said...

Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com